I have a letter for you

by The Lingernots

letterhead_colordetail

I’m working on this project right now and one of the funny things that ended up happening was I spent a good portion of a beautiful day, researching letterheads and stationary and what ended up happening, was a complete obsession. File that one with my love affair with stereoscopes and old postcards from lovers.

Stationary, I’ve always liked, and is still something that’s quite easy to find, but there is this insane wealth of gorgeous letterheads that seems to be an endangered species of Relics That Shouldn’t Disappear. (Handmade zines, polaroid film, mix tapes and handwritten letters are all in there) What is today just a little logo and an address, was once like a total mural at the top of your letters! These are my favorites that I’ve found. (Above, the Old Kentucky letterhead is adorable because I love raccoons)

john_denver

This is so rad, it looks like a Peter Max doodle.

05

Bowie’s looks like its on kraft paper. He’s always been coolest.

TOPEKA_TROLLEY_RWY_HISTORY_LETTERHEAD_W_SIG

Amazing.

GeneAutry_thumb

Again. So perfect.

53411-Company-Letterhead-lg

This is beautiful and I can only imagine the detail on the stamp that this was made from.

Screen Shot 2014-06-24 at 11.39.40 AM

I found this one on Ebay, it reminds me of archie comics and halloween.Screen Shot 2014-06-24 at 11.50.38 AM

This is from Ebay, again. This is the letterhead for a GAS STATION. Can you imagine a chevron today sending out notices on something so pretty? I think theres a market for boutique gas stations. Fill up, get your girl a peony, and get a sandwich that isn’t nuclear.

4762

Marcel Marceau

4763

Frank Lloyd Wright’s is just insane

and last but not least

tumblr_l3sut9QDqj1qac511o1_500

Oh Charles… You would have “The World’s Most Perfectly Developed Man” scrawled between your legs..

Anyone else here longing for their own pad of personalized paper? I think I’m going to get on mine.

xoxo

