A Mind of Beauty

by The Lingernots

Every once in a while I remember that I’m absolutely mad about botanical prints (I have a box that contains hundreds of postcards that are all botanical/ instructional posters and I haven’t sent any out…) and today while thinking about what to do to the bathroom (it needs art. All bathrooms do, we spend so much time in them).

While looking around on Etsy for an art printing company that may have what I was looking for, (I found two! hurray!) I just tossed myself down a huge Ernst Haeckel Rabbit Hole, more specifically, his JELLYFISH.

Enjoy.

SIL33-115-37

Haeckel-Trachomedusae

Haeckel_Anthomedusae

il_fullxfull.212054365

il_fullxfull.212829590

First, these are SO stunning, the fact that these are just floating around doing a transparent ballet in the ocean is baffling, their composition is exquisite.

Second, Haeckel is such an interesting person, accomplishing more in one lifetime than I can imagine in two…

“Biologist, naturalist, philosopher, physician, professor and artist who discovered, described and named thousands of new species, mapped a genealogical tree relating all life forms, and coined many terms in biology, including antropogenyecology, phylum,phylogeny, stem cell, and the kingdom Protista. Haeckel promoted and popularized Darwin’s work in Germany and developed the controversial recapitulation theory(“ontogeny recapitulates phylogeny”) claiming that an individual organism’s biological development, or ontogeny, parallels and summarizes its species’ evolutionary development, or phylogeny.”

Thanks, wiki. 

Beyond the gift of research, the man also had a beautiful sense of design, I think his life accomplishments are a gift to the world.

ernst-haeckel-and-nikolai-m

Also, he (on the right) and his assistant, Nikolai Niklouho Maklai are look like babes that ran out of a Wes Anderson film.

