Absurt Talent II

by The Lingernots

Around the same time last year I posted about embroidery artist kid whiz Olympia LeTan (Whose sister Cleo just released a book by the way, are they the real Tennenbaums?) because I was lusting after her embroidered book cover art ( https://thelingernots.wordpress.com/2012/01/24/absurd-talent/ ) and the other day, while looking for some new art to maybe put up in the house I came upon the online portfolio of Alaina Varrone and pretty much stayed on her site for an hour, newly obsessed with her weird John Waters-ish form of erotic embroidery.

Screen shot 2013-06-19 at 12.13.36 AM

Screen shot 2013-06-19 at 12.12.31 AM

Screen shot 2013-06-19 at 12.11.51 AM

I remember being a kid and seeing embroidery kits at supermarkets where you could buy thick thread and stitch kittens and roses and kites on cute little looms. I was always a little curious about them but I doubt I ever verbalized wanting to try it out. I love when artists take something so traditional and put their own spin on it. These remind me of the kinds of drawings that are hidden in the pages of bored mohawked kids during interminable school classes, but rendered in needle and thread they take an even more timeless feel.

You can check (and you should) Alaina’s website here.

